Taxi Fail

So..I’m in Macedonia!! And back to blogging. I don’t think anyone wanted to hear about my life in Arlington, Virginia anyway :)

I got here yesterday after flying all night, but I logged 12 hours of sleep last night so I think I should be good on the jetlag.

Things learned today..be better at taking a taxi.

So someone offered me a ride home today but I wanted to catch up on a few more emails so I said, oh thanks, but I’ll grab a taxi! She said, do you know where you live?…um, no :(

Yeah I forgot my address, but I rebounded because I had it written down somewhere. Then I call the taxi and say, see you out front! Only..I have no idea where “out front is”. I mean, I walked through it coming in, but this is a big new Embassy and I got a winding tour of it all in the morning.

So I get to what appears like the front, but only see an Embassy driver, so I have to go ask him, ummm if I ordered a taxi where would it be? He pointed me off in another direction.

Then I got out front and there was indeed a taxi..perched completely on top of the sidewalk, but then I was like, oh geez. How do I know if this is mine? Also, what if he doesn’t speak English.

I don’t think I’ve been in a taxi where I didn’t know the language since I was 16 and in China for the summer. Humbling! I did bust out my one word of Macedonian: zdravo (hello) and then had to do a series of handmotions and smiles to get us to my house.

Note to self: Find the Albanian community..SOON. I could have chit chatted and easily explained myself, but instead I was just like..I hope he understood my version of what my neighborhood is called! In the meantime, figuring out how to say my house number in Macedonian would be convenient..

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

